The Catholic Parish of
Saint John Henry Newman

 Covering most of East Leeds

The Month Of The Rosary

Read 1586 Times
Many religions use forms of prayer in which a steady repetition creates a calm rhythm and sense of quiet stillness for the one who is praying. The Rosary may date back to the time of St Dominic in the Middle Ages. It is a form of contemplative prayer, which reflects on the most important events in the life of Our Lord. The use of the Hail Mary reflects the Catholic belief that through Our Blessed Lady we are led to Christ. The Rosary is divided into four groups of points for meditation.

The Joyful Mysteries are the Annunciation, the Visitation, the Nativity, The Presentation, and The Finding in the Temple.

The Luminous Mysteries are The Baptism in the Jordan, The Wedding At Cana, The Proclamation of the Kingdom, The Transfiguration, and The Institution of the Eucharist.

The Sorrowful Mysteries are The Agony in the Garden, The Scourging at the Pillar, The Crowning with Thorns, The Carrying Of The Cross, and the Crucifixion

The Glorious Mysteries are The Resurrection, The Ascension, The Descent of the Holy Spirit, The Assumption of our Lady, The Crowning of Our Lady in Heaven

Published Fri 28th Sep 2012 15:13:41

Share This Page